Super Green Salad

5 Apr

Super Green Salad

I don’t know about you, but when I think healthy. I think salad. Basically lots and lots of green.

And for good reason. Things like spinach, rocket and lettuce are amazingly good for you, filled with a load of nutrients and nothing bad. However I also like colour so whilst I have decided salads are now my go to lunch, they need to be good varied salads that I enjoy and want to go back for more.

For me this about variety and combination. Which means having a wide variety of different foods, in all sorts of combination to ensure I don’t get board and pack the whole thing in for some brownie.

This week I have been craving colour – (did anyone see the snow! I mean come on!) so pepper has been my go to vegetable of choice.

Now I can’t really claim that this is a recipe. Again it’s more about giving you a bit of a push to do something different.

My salad contained:

  • Spinach Leaves
  • Rocket Leaves
  • Romaine Lettuce
  • Yellow Pepper
  • Red Pepper
  • Baby Tomatoes
  • Celery (I know a lot of people are on the fence about celery but it is a real salad winner in my opinon)
  • Apple
  • 1 Carrot
  • Walnut halves

I then made a dressing with:

  • a dash of walnut oil
  • a dash of olive oil
  • ½ tsp balsamic vinegar
  • ¼ tsp mustard
  • ¼ tsp honey
  • squeeze of lemon
  • pinch of salt and Pepper

Salad 2

And then chowed down on a very satisfying lunch. It really is that simple. But I think diversity is key, so get some nuts involved to add a new texture, try some beetroot, radish or avocado. What about adding some spring onions to give it a kick or why not add in some fruit. Orange and beetroot make a good combo. And nobody can deny the joy of pear in a Waldorf salad.

Try and keep it veggie to ensure it’s a real health kick, but experiment. It is the easiest ‘cooking’ you can do.

Well, I think I made my point.

Bon Appetite!

2 Responses to “Super Green Salad”

  1. Grandpa 05/04/2013 at 8:32 pm #

    Hi Lucie, Your blog and picture of the salad prompted me to buy salads today even though the weather here is not good. So its healthy eating for me now. I packed up a nice glass cake stand this morning which has your name on it, Keep smiling.

    • suppersfromscratch 06/04/2013 at 9:57 am #

      Thanks Grandpa, that sounds lovely. I hope you enjoy your salads, make sure you allow yourself the occasional treat!

Leave a Reply

