The Easter Countdown – Hot Cross Brioche Buns

27 Mar

Hot Cross Brioche Buns 1

Wowee isn’t this fun! A slice of easter everyday is making me feel like I am on holiday again, and I’m not even going to mention the weather because I don’t care anymore (oops… well it doesn’t count if you’re saying your not going to say anything – you know what I mean).

After tackling chocolate and cake I felt it was high time to pay a visit to one of my best friends of the season – the Hot Cross Bun. I literally can’t live without these bountiful fruit based beauties, so much so that in my proper year From Scratch – you know the one, the one when I actually made everything I ate from scratch … remember now? Excellent, well that year I made them because I needed them. Beyond anything else I craved Hot Cross Buns. Hopefully you understand why they had to make there way into my countdown.

Good, I’m glad were on the same page.

You can get my classic Hot Cross Buns here

HCBB2

SO after all of that ramble I decided I didn’t want to just revisit Hot Cross Buns and make them again but just take better photos I wanted to do something a bit different. I toyed with Hot Cross Biscuits, Hot Cross Foccacia and Hot Cross Brioche. All originally chosen as I thought they would be cheats versions of Hot Cross Buns e.g. getting that delicious flavour without spending hours waiting for things to rise. After much mental deliberation I decide on the Brioche. Since then I have seen a lovely looking Hot Cross Biscuits recipe here. And have thought about how cool a Hot Cross Foccacia would be – If you have made this/ do make this, let me know how it goes.

But I decided on Brioche.

Not sure if this was the best decision in hindsight – flavour wise it was spot on, time wise not so much. You know all those hours I didn’t want to spend waiting for things to rise. It turns out Brioche, like the Hot Cross Bun, is a patient food. I kinda knew this but conveniently forgot, so when I woke up this morning thinking I would pop my brioche in the oven and 30mins later have breakfast, I was very wrong. Instead I had to leave it for a hour and ½ to rise and then bake it. Which meant annoyingly instead of sitting down and savouring warm brioche goodness I had to rush out of the house with a burnt tongue. Nonetheless don’t let this put you off. Hot Cross Brioche Buns are yummy!

Have I won you over? Ignore all my moaning, set a few hours aside and make these bad boys. And if you make too many and don’t get through them all…Hello Hot Cross Brioche Bread and Butter Pudding! Yes indeed, I went there!

Enough rambling more recipes… so without further ado

Hot Cross Brioche Buns HCbb4

Ingredients

250g strong white bread flour

1tsp mixed spice

1 tsp fast action yeast

1/2tsp salt

35ml warm milk

3 eggs beaten

175g butter ( leave it out for a while so it is room temperature)

20g sugar

50g raisins

Method

  1. Place flour, mixed spice, yeast and salt in a bowl ( be careful not mix the salt and the yeast as the salt will kill your yeast)
  2. Mix in the milk and eggs, either knead together by hand or mix in processor with dough blade
  3. Continue to knead until you have a smooth elastic dough ( about 15mins)
  4. In another bowl mix the butter and sugar together in bowl, then add to the to your dough a spoonful at a time. Kneed the butter in until you have a smooth shiny dough ( this is much easier in a food processor – as it can get fairly gooey!)
  5. Once all the butter is combined and you have a smooth and shiny dough place in a bowl and cover with a tea towel and leave in a warm place to rise for two hours
  6. Knock back and knead your raisins into your dough. Place back in the bowl, cover with cling film and leave in the fridge for at least six hours ( I left mine over night)
  7. Go to sleep ( you don’t have to, but its a good way to spend your ‘rising’ time)
  8. Get back up ( hurray you are awake)
  9. Shape your dough into buns and place side by side on a baking sheet
  10. To create your cross mix 3tbsp of plain flour with 3tbsp of water, this should create a paste, and then spoon a cross onto your buns
  11. Leave to rise for another hour to double in size
  12. Preheat the oven to 200c
  13. Once your buns have doubled in size place in the oven and bake for 10 mins, turn the oven down to 180C and bake for a further 10 mins
  14. Once bake remove from the oven and leave to cool for as long as you can resist

You see what I mean now, it’s a slow process, but I promise you well worth the time.

HCBB3

I hope you are enjoying the Easter countdown as much as me – let me know what you think and what your favourite post has been so far.

I would love to know what you are all planning to make this Easter and leave a comment and let me know what you will be treating yourself to.

One Response to “The Easter Countdown – Hot Cross Brioche Buns”

  1. Grandpa 27/03/2013 at 8:16 pm #

    Hi Lucie, I agree Hot Cross Buns are my favourites, can’t wait to be back in UK where I can enjoy all year round. Have a good Easter.

Leave a Reply

