Five things to try this weekend

18 Jan

Let is Snow

Hurray it’s the weekend – or soon to be!

I hope you have all had good weeks, mine has been fairly busy and very sociable – which is great, because often when it gets cold I tend to go into hibernation mode and want to stay wrapped on the sofa in a blanket! However this week I bucked the trend and had lots of friends over for dinner. In my mind it’s the best way to be sociable in the colder months and it also means you get to try out new things. I have recently discovered a great Mediterranean Deli 5 mins walk from my house, and last night went and explored the shelves. I came back with Wasabi Peas, Turkish Delight and actual proper Bon Maman Fig Jam (which you can’t seem to get anywhere in this country). Suffice to say I was very happy.

With the snow supposedly landing over the weekend (in fact I have just looked out of my window to see it falling thick and fast), I have decided it’s the perfect weekend to spend time trying out some new recipes. Consequently I have been absorbed in cook books and food blogs all week building up some things I want to make. So I thought I would share what I found with you. I hope you all have wonderful weekends and manage to get in the kitchen to whip up something delicious.

Here is what’s on my list:

I have some leftover pastry lurking around in my fridge and now I know just what to do with it. 

I can’t wait to try this delicious looking Chocolate and Chestnut Cake – Yummy!

I am currently obsessing over Cauliflower and am keen to try this pasta dish out.

This Brunch looks like the perfect way to kick of Sunday

And because I am trying to be more healthy, I think this might be Saturday’s lunch. This looks warming, delcious and really good for you all at the same time – The perfect triple threat!

Let me know what you get up to this weekend and if this was useful – if so I will do more, as I spend most of my time thinking and looking at food, for some reason I just never thought to share it before 🙂

Oh and as an extra special treat completely non food related, here is Totoro all ready for the snow!

Totoro ready for the Snow

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

